Registration for the 2022 NOHVCC Annual Conference in Knoxville, Tennessee August 18-20 is now open.

General Attendees

Partners on Travel Grants and Scholarship Recipients 

At the Conference State Partners will elect NOHVCC’s Board of Directors. If you are interested in running please read on.


All interested NOHVCC State Partners are eligible to run for open or contested positions on the Board. Again, ONLY NOHVCC State Partners in good standing are eligible to run.  Nominees can only run for ONE open or contested position.

If you are a NOHVCC State Partner and are interested in serving on NOHVCC’s Board of Directors, you can nominate yourself at Conference or by sending us an email at

There are three ways to serve on the Board:


There are three officers who serve staggered two-year terms on NOHVCC’s Board – Chairman, Treasurer and Secretary. This year the Treasurer position is up for election. NOTE: To run for Treasurer you must have at least six months of prior service on the NOHVCC Board of Directors.

Issue Area Representative (IAR):

Issue Area Representatives (IAR) serve staggered two-year terms and are expected to maintain knowledge and expertise on relevant issue area. The issue areas are Public Lands, Private Lands, Youth and Education, Clubs and Associations, as well as the IAR representative to the Network Development Team which is responsible for recruiting NOHVCC Partners and other volunteer efforts. Any Partner can request the formation of an ad hoc Committee to be approved by the Board of Directors. Ad hoc Committees will be Chaired by the appropriate IAR and can be formed for a variety of reasons. The Network Development Team will be a Standing Committee comprised of Partners who volunteer to serve on the Committee.

At Large:

There are three members of the Board who are elected by NOHVCC Partners to serve staggered two-year terms as At-Large members, which essentially means they are not an Officer or an Issue Area Representative.

Current Board of Directors – Those up for election this year in bold


Chairman – Barrett Brown (OR) (current term expires in 2023)
Treasurer – Wayne Briske (FL) (current term expires in 2022)
Secretary – Tasha Nielsen (IA) (current term expires in 2023)

Issue Area Representatives:

Private Lands – Danny Hale (VT) (current term expires in 2023)
Public Lands – Bryan Much (WI) (current term expires in 2023)
Youth and Education – Carol Smith (TX) (current term expires in 2023)
Clubs and Associations – Steve Newton (AL) (current term expires in 2023)

Network Development Team – Charles Sims (OK) (current term expires in 2022)

At Large Members:

Scott Jones (CO) (current term expires in 2022)
Tom Cowher (OH) (current term expires in 2022)
Clif Koontz (UT) (current term expires in 2023)

Voting Procedure:

Voting will occur at Annual Conference with each STATE allowed to cast one vote in NOHVCC elections. If more than one State Partner from a given State attends Conference, they will be asked to select one nominee amongst themselves. If consensus amongst the Partners cannot be reached, then NOHVCC’s bylaws require a Network Development Team representative to oversee a coin toss to break any ties.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *