The National Off-Highway Vehicle Conservation Council (NOHVCC) recognized 7 individuals and organizations at its Celebration & Awards Dinner held October 19, 2019 during its Annual Conference in Reno, Nevada. The awards are presented in recognition of outstanding achievements that have advanced the NOHVCC mission: “Creating a Positive Future for OHV Recreation.” NOHVCC also inducted two new members into its Hall of Fame who will be recognized in a separate article soon.

The Rob Perrin OHV Program Manager Of The Year Award:

Dave Jeppesen, BLM Travel Management and Transportation Specialist accepted award on behalf of Leo Drumm

To honor a long-time OHV Program Manager, and in memory of him, the NOHVCC OHV Program Manager of the Year Award is called the Rob Perrin OHV Program Manager of the Year Award. Rob Perrin was a long-time employee of the Bureau of Land Management (BLM), and a very important partner to NOHVCC. In recent years, Rob was the driving force behind the successful BLM National Motorized Recreation Action Strategy. NOHVCC has had the privilege of contributing information gathered from the public to inform statewide OHV recreation action plans that fall under the umbrella of this national project. Rob was equally driven to provide quality recreation for all user types, but never failed to ensure that OHV recreation was given a seat at the table. “Rob exemplified what a program manager should strive to be and set a great example for other managers to follow,” said Duane Taylor, NOHVCC Executive Director.

This year, The Rob Perrin Program Manager of the Year Award was presented to Leo Drumm with the Bureau of Land Management (BLM). Leo was instrumental in bringing the National Motorized Recreation Strategy to Nevada. Leo was the first State Recreation Lead to invite NOHVCC to assist the BLM with their OHV action plan before the travel management plans for many of the field offices were completed. He wanted to make sure that future travel plans were informed by the needs and expectations of OHV recreationalists. Leo retired in 2019, but his dedication to the public he served will be felt for many years to come. Leo was nominated for this award by fellow BLM Recreation staff person Brad Colin.

Mathew Giltner accepting the award for Pine Nuts Mountain Trails Association

Club Of The Year: Pine Nut Mountain Trail Association

The Pine Nut Mountain Trail Association is a small club in the Carson Valley in Nevada that has a huge impact on recreational access in the area. The club fights for public access to public lands for all who enjoy outdoor recreation. Each year the club removes thousands of pounds of trash from public lands in the Pine Nut Mountains, and more recently at the Prison Hill Recreation Area. The Pine Nut Mountain Trail Association has also been a huge supporter of the new management and trails plan at the Prison Hill Recreation Area, as well as the 2019 NOHVCC Conference.


Volunteer of the Year: Perry May (MN)

Tom Umphress accepted the award on behalf of Perry May

Perry May was nominated by Dave Halsey of Minnesota. Perry serves as the 1st Vice-President of the ATV Association of Minnesota, and President of the Over the Hills Gang ATV Club. Of Perry’s dedication to OHV Recreation Dave said:

“If you want something done that requires a lot of volunteer time and energy, ask someone who is already busy with multiple OHV projects. In Minnesota, that person is Perry May.

After a long and successful career with General Mills, Perry retired, and put his experience in the corporate world to use, moving the NOHVCC Mission forward in the state of Minnesota.

Perry has been building ATV trails in Minnesota for years, as trail manager and president of the 400-member, Over The Hills Gang ATV Club in Outing, MN.”


Duane Taylor; Terry Lambert; Harry Brown; Marc Hildesheim

NOHVCC Partner Of The Year Award: Terry Lambert (NH):

A relatively new NOHVCC Partner, Terry Lambert is originally from Rhode Island, but moved to NH in 1986. She got into OHV recreation about 15 years ago when her husband purchased an ATV to help him hunt with an artificial hip. Over time, Terry became interested in recreational OHV use herself. After her husband passed away, Terry needed riding partners, so she joined local clubs and has become increasingly more active in supporting motorized recreation ever since. She discovered that the OHV community is a family and has made some amazing friendships that go far beyond just riding together. Terry believes the most important thing an individual can do to create a positive future for OHV recreation is to educate riders, so they understand the impacts their actions have. “When someone doesn’t pay attention to the rules, we lose trails.” NOHVCC Executive Director, Duane Taylor said, “Terry not only puts in a ton of work and effort to support OHV safety and access, she makes everyone around her happier with her exuberance and upbeat personality. It was a real honor to present her this award.”

Special Recognition Award: Egg Harbor Township PAL Ready to Ride OHV Program

John Parrinello accepted award on behalf of Egg Harbor Township

Hector Tavarez and four fellow officers started the Egg Harbor Township Police Athletic League in 1989. In the first 10 years they ran numerous successful programs ranging from basketball to SCUBA diving. They were and are a very successful youth organization serving the needs of 500 to 700 local children every year.

Presently, Hector is Executive Director of what is now called the Egg Harbor Township Police Activities League.  The READY TO RIDE OHV PARK, now 35 acres, recently reopened after a 7-month closure due to flooding. The flooding was extreme and nearly damaged two buildings.  If not for the Township and a local business that loaned several pumps and volunteers and staff that operated those pumps, we would have had severe damage to our buildings and trails and the park may have been closed for good. Today, the park is home to our summer camp, laser tag, zip line and our very successful STEM program, that includes 2 world caliber robotics teams.

On June 8, 2019, there was a groundbreaking for the new Buddy’s Adventure Zone. A two-building project that includes a 14,000 square foot STEM building and 24,000 square foot athletic arena as an addition to the READY TO RIDE OHV PARK.

NOHVCC Lifetime Achievement Awards: Tom Umphress and Jim Barrett

Dan Kleen, NOHVCC President; Tom Umphress; Duane Taylor, NOHVCC Exec. Director

NOHVCC Chairman of the Board of Directors, Dan Kleen said of the two recipients of NOHVCC Lifetime Achievement Awards – “At the Conference in Reno we recognized 2 very special friends of NOHVCC by honoring them with Lifetime Achievement Awards. Very few people have contributed as much to NOHVCC or to our sport than Jim Barrett or Tom Umphress. I would personally like to thank Jim and Tom for helping guide the NOHVCC Board of Directors for the last 15 plus years. We appreciate your friendship and leadership. I don’t know of anyone who has done more for “Creating a Positive for Off-Highway Vehicle Recreation” than these 2 gentlemen.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *