Each year NOHVCC State Partners elect NOHVCC’s Board of Directors at the Annual Conference – except for last year due to COVID-19 scuttling the in-person meeting.  Instead, the NOHVCC Board of Directors opted to postpone voting.  While we cannot meet in person again this year (read Update On 2021 NOHVCC Annual Conference), the Directors have decided it necessary to move forward with virtual elections this year.

NOHVCC has developed a procedure for all State Partners to cast votes, but first we need to know who would like to be nominated for the positions which will be voted upon.

All interested NOHVCC State Partners are eligible to run for open or contested positions on the Board. Again, ONLY NOHVCC State Partners in good standing are eligible to run.  Nominees can only run for ONE open or contested position.

If you are a NOHVCC State Partner and are interested in serving on NOHVCC’s Board of Directors, you can nominate yourself by sending us an email at trailhead@nohvcc.org.

There are three ways to serve on the Board:


There are three officers who serve staggered two-year terms on NOHVCC’s Board – Chairman, Treasurer and Secretary. This year the President and Secretary positions are up for election. NOTE: To run for President you must have at least one year of prior service on the NOHVCC Board of Directors.  To run for Secretary you must have at least six months of prior service on the NOHVCC Board of Directors.

Issue Area Representative (IAR)

Issue Area Representatives (IAR) serve staggered two-year terms and are expected to maintain knowledge and expertise on relevant issue area. The issue areas are Public Lands, Private Lands, Youth and Education, Clubs and Associations, as well as the IAR representative to the Network Development Team which is responsible for recruiting NOHVCC Partners and other volunteer efforts. Any Partner can request the formation of an ad hoc Committee to be approved by the Board of Directors. Ad hoc Committees will be Chaired by the appropriate IAR and can be formed for a variety of reasons. The Network Development Team will be a Standing Committee comprised of Partners who volunteer to serve on the Committee.

At Large

There are three members of the Board who are elected by NOHVCC Partners to serve staggered two-year terms as At-Large members, which essentially means they are not an Officer or an Issue Area Representative.

Current Board of Directors – Those up for election this year in bold


Chairman – Dan Kleen (IA) (current term expires this year)
Treasurer – Wayne Briske (FL) (installed by the Board of Directors to complete term which expires in 2022)
Secretary – Lew Shuler (MI) (current term expires this year)

Issue Area Representatives:

Private Lands – Danny Hale (VT) (current term expires this year)
Public Lands – Barrett Brown (OR) (current term expires in 2022)
Youth and Education – Tasha Nielsen (IA) (current term expires in 2022)
Clubs and Associations – Steve Newton (AL) (installed by the Board of Directors to complete term which expires this year)

Network Development Team – Charles Sims (OK) (current term expires in 2022)

At Large Members:

Scott Jones (CO)(current term expires in 2022)
Tom Cowher (OH)(current term expires in 2022)
Clif Koontz (UT) (current term expires this year)

Voting Procedure

Each STATE will be allowed to cast one vote in NOHVCC elections. NOHVCC staff will reach out to all State Partners and ask each Partner to cast votes.  If a majority of Partners from an individual State select a particular nominee – that nominee will receive the State’s vote.  In the event there is a tie for one or more positions, NOHVCC staff will follow up with the appropriate Partners and ask if they can come to a consensus.  If consensus amongst the Partners cannot be reached, then NOHVCC’s bylaws require a Network Development Team representative to oversee a coin toss to break any ties.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *