The National Off-Highway Vehicle Conservation Council (NOHVCC) recognized 6 individuals and organizations at its Celebration & Awards Dinner held August 18, 2018 during its Annual Conference in Grand Rapids, Michigan. The awards are presented in recognition of outstanding achievements that have advanced the NOHVCC mission: Creating a Positive Future for OHV Recreation.” NOHVCC also inducted two new members into its Hall of Fame who will be recognized in a separate article soon.


The Rob Perrin OHV Program Manager Of The Year Award: Sam Logan, Stay The Trail     

To honor a long-time OHV program manager, and in memory of him, the NOHVCC OHV Program Manager of the Year Award is now called the Rob Perrin OHV Program Manager of the Year Award. Rob Perrin was a long-time employee of the Bureau of Land Management (BLM), and a very important partner to NOHVCC. In recent years, Rob was the driving force behind the successful BLM National Motorized Recreation Action Strategy. NOHVCC has had the privilege of contributing information gathered from the public to inform statewide OHV recreation action plans that fall under the umbrella of this national project. Rob was equally driven to provide quality recreation for all user types, but never failed to ensure that OHV recreation was given a seat at the table. Rob exemplified what a program manager should strive to be, and set a great example for other managers to follow,” said Duane Taylor, NOHVCC Executive Director.

This year, The Rob Perrin Program Manager of the Year Award was presented to Sam Logan with the “Stay The Trail” program. Sam was foundational in the development of the nationally recognized Stay The Trail program in Colorado,” said Scott Jones, NOHVCC Colorado State Partner. “Sam volunteered for almost a decade with STT before being hired with the program. In all of his capacities with STT, Sam has always been an incredible spokesperson for OHV recreation and the Stay The Trail Program, even under difficult conditions. Sam has been one of the “go to” people for the OHV community in Colorado for decades. While Sam is a go-to guy in Colorado, Sam has always been exceptionally humble in accepting appreciation from the community.”


Association Of The Year Award: ATV Association of Minnesota (ATVAM) 

This year’s Association Of The Year Award goes to the ATV Association of Minnesota or ATVAM,” said Marc Hildesheim in presenting the award. “ATVAM continues to be a source of leadership in the OHV community in Minnesota. From sponsoring OHV workshops and educational development, to coordinating and conducting trail maintenance, ATVAM is always dependable.”




Club Of The Year: Tonto Recreation Alliance (TRAL) 

Geoff Chain, NOHVCC Project Coordinator & Communications Associate, said: “The Tonto Recreation Alliance (TRAL), located in Mesa, Arizona, is a group of highly engaged OHV enthusiasts that are instrumental in forming alliances with land agencies, mining firms, clubs, and local vendors. They have worked extensively with the Tonto National Forest on the outskirts of the Phoenix Metropolitan area, by organizing cleanups, signing routes, and educating users on responsible recreation practices. The Tonto National Forest sees a high volume of recreational users and TRAL has been instrumental in assisting the Tonto National Forest with projects, including their Travel Management, and are on the forefront of mapping and inventory techniques.”


NOHVCC Partner Of The Year Award: Tom Niemala 

“When Tom is not riding, he’s working on riding projects,” said Hildesheim in presenting the award. Barrett Brown, NOHVCC Oregon State Partner, said about Tom receiving the award, “It’s not because of a long history writing and managing trail maintenance and project grants for years in Oregon, though Tom has done that. It’s not due to hard work advocating for OHVs in the Oregon State Capitol for our State Association, though Tom’s worn that hat for years. And it’s not by setting and promoting the benchmark standard for Dual Sport Motorcycle events in Oregon for countless years – though, yes, he’s done that, too.  I think Tom’s the perfect 2018 NOHVCC Partner of the Year recipient because he’s been such a constant, driving reminder of just how fun the greatest sport in the world can be.  From his instinctive use of the camera to document the best our sport has to offer, to just plain encouraging all of us to break down barriers, appreciate the camaraderie and ride together – everywhere, and with everyone he encounters.”


Special Recognition Award: Nevada Outdoor School 

Janice Keillor with Nevada State Parks wrote in her nomination, I would like to nominate the Nevada Outdoor School for their outstanding work with the OHV community. Their Outdoor Ethics and Responsible Recreation Rock Stars projects, funded in part with the Recreational Trails Program grant, have taught hundreds of youth and adults the concepts of Leave No Trace” and Tread Lightly”, which eventually become lifestyles for OHV users. The Nevada Division of State Parks values their hard work and contribution to the protection of our resources through education and training and looks forward to our continued partnership.”


Special Recognition Award: Peacock LTD/Jim Faiella 

Jim Faiella of local dealership Peacock LTD worked tirelessly to ensure the NOHVCC’s Mobile Workshop in Michigan proved successful. No job was too small or too big.  Everyone who participated owes Jim a debt of gratitude.  Said Hildesheim, “Not only has Jim been instrumental in making sure that the NOHVCC annual conference was a success, he is heavily engaged in protecting the trails and access for Michigan ORV enthusiasts.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *